Saturday, June 6, 2009

Stephanie J. Block "This Place I Know" Album

Stephanie J. Block is one of my favorite singers. She made her broadway debut in 2003 opposite Hugh Jackman in The Boy from Oz. After that she served as understudy for Idina Menzel in the broadway musical Wicked. Stephanie J. Block originated the role of Elphaba for the first national tour of Wicked in 2005 and reprised the role on broadway from October 2007-June 2008 and was succeeded by Kerry Ellis when her contract was transfered to New York.

Here's a little trivia, during the initial workshops and readings of Wicked it was Stephanie J. Block reading for the role of Elphaba but the role was given to Idina Menzel in 2001. Stephanie J. Block was also featured in Scott Alan's CD Dreaming Wide Awake where she sang Never Never Land.

Now, Stephanie J Block is starring alongside Allison Janey, Megan Hilty, and Marc Kurdisch in the broadway musical 9 to 5 which officially opened last April 30, 2009.

Stephanie J. Block's album is scheduled to be released on June 2, 2009. I cant wait to get my hands on this album. I've heard the samples of the songs and the arrangement of "Making Good" is a little different form the one that was released on the 5th year anniversary CD of Wicked.

Track List:
1. Something Beautiful
2. One Day
3. I Will Always Love You (duet with Dolly Parton)
4. Gotta Start Small
5. Fifteen Pounds (Away From My Love)
6. Never Neverland (Fly Away)
7. The Hardest Part of Love
8. Invention
9. Making Good
10. Because I Am a Wife
11. Smart Women
12. The Human Heart
13. Life Starts Clapping

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

i absolutely ADORE SJB. :] just saw her in 9 to 5 - she was fantabulous.

so jealous that you got her CD; i haven't had a chance to pick it up yet.